What is needed to ride a Motorcycle in California?
California offers two classes of Motorcycle Licenses; The M1, with an M1 license, you may ride any type of motorcycle with an attached motor, or any motorized scooter. and the M2, with an M2 classification, you will be permitted to drive a motorized bicycle, a moped, a bicycle with an attached motor, or a motorized scooter only.
Once you have decided on a classification, and you meet the minimum age of 15 1/2 (with parents signature until 18yrs) you can continue with the following steps.
List of the steps required to get a Motorcycle License in the state of California.
The first step no matter what your age is to obtain a Learners permit. This will allow you to practice riding your motorcycle in order to pass a motorcycle driving test, or take a motorcycle rider training course. (NOTE: As of 2011, all under-21 motorcycle permit applicants must complete a state-approved motorcycle safety course.)
To get your learners permit you will be required to pass a written exam at the DMV based on the information provided in the California Motorcycle Handbook.
Once you’ve sufficiently studied for the exam you can call the DMV office to book your test appointment.
At your Appointment you will need to:
- Pass a vision test
- Submit form DL 44
- Give a thumbprint
- Pass the written exam
- Provide proof of completing a motorcycle safety course
- Pass the motorcycle laws test
- Pay the fee of $28
This permit will be good for one year.
Full Motorcycle License:
You can apply for your license after:
- Holding your learners permit for at least 6 months if you are 16 or 17 years old.
- You have passed a California Motorcyclist Safety Program training course (the Basic RiderCourse) administered by the California Highway Patrol, and been issued a completion certificate.
- Pay the Fee of $28
- Complete the motorcycle rider training course’s completion certificate and drop off at any DMV location.
- Schedule a motorcycle driving test.